Rabbi David Small Mystery Series by Harry Kemelman


In 1964, Hary Kemelman published the first Rabbi David Small novel.  This novel, Friday, the Rabbi Slept Late, won a 1965 Edgar Award for Best First Novel and led to the publication of eleven other novels centered around a conservative Jewish Rabbi, who is a master of Talmudic logic.  Kemelman and Agatha Christie were my first foray into the world of cozy mysteries and gave me a great love of the sub-genre.

  1. Friday, the Rabbi Slept Late – 1964
  2. Saturday, the Rabbi Went Hungry – 1966
  3. Sunday, the Rabbi Stayed Home – 1969
  4. Monday, the Rabbi Took off – 1972
  5. Tuesday, the Rabbi Saw Red – 1973
  6. Wednesday, the Rabbi Got Wet – 1976
  7. Thursday, the Rabbi Walked Out – 1978
  8. Conversations With Rabbi Small – 1981
  9. Someday the Rabbi Will Leave – 1985
  10. One Fine Day the Rabbi Bought a Cross – 1987
  11. The Day the Rabbi Resigned – 1992
  12. That Day the Rabbi Left Town – 1996

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s